Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women’s Tennis Rolls Past McMurry, 6-3, for Fourth Straight Victory

Stephanie Simon

ABILENE, Texas – Freshman Brooke Scully (Winchester, Mass.) was victorious in doubles action and won her singles match in straight sets to help propel the Connecticut College women's tennis team to a 6-3 triumph over McMurry on Sunday afternoon.

The Camels, who have now won four straight matches, set the tone for the dual by sweeping doubles action. Scully teamed up with senior Emily Migliorini (North Haven, Conn.) at the No. 1 spot to earn a close 8-6 win and then downed Neah Garza at No. 4 singles by marks of 6-2 and 6-3. Migliorini rallied to capture No. 1 singles over Samantha Ritz by scores of 2-6, 6-1, and 6-3.

Junior Stephanie Simon (Wellesley, Mass.) was also a two-time winner for the Camels. After pairing with freshman Allison Falvey (Wakefield, Mass.) to record an 8-3 victory at No. 3 doubles, she came from behind to defeat Gabrielle Ellwanger at No. 3 singles by scores of 5-7, 6-0, and 7-5.

Connecticut College (5-2) will look to close out its trip to the Lone Star State with an unblemished record when it faces Hardin-Simmons at 9:00 a.m. CST (10:00 a.m. EST) tomorrow morning and Howard Payne during the afternoon at 2:00 p.m. CST (3:00 p.m. EST).