Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Camels Set to Honor Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2014 on April 11

Camels Set to Honor Athletic Hall of Fame Class of 2014 on April 11

NEW LONDON, Conn.--The Connecticut College Athletic Hall of Fame will welcome four inductees in a special ceremony held on Saturday, April 11 in New London. The Class of 2014 includes Kerry Newhall Heath '98 (track & field), Tim Boyd '01 (lacrosse, hockey), Adam Fitzgerald '03 (cross country, track & field) and Anne Parmenter, Head Coach of Field Hockey from 1987-2000 and Head Coach of Lacrosse from 1991-2000.

At 5:30 p.m., plaques will be unveiled in the Hall of Fame Room off the foyer of the Charles B. Luce Field House. The inductees will also be honored at a dinner after the ceremony. Tickets for the dinner are available for purchase by contacting Beth Crocker at 860-439-2541.

"This year's inductees are impressive with three All-Americans and a nationally-recognized coach and former colleague," said Fran Shields, the Katherine Wenk Christoffers '45 Director of Athletics and Chair of Physical Education.  "We come together to celebrate their accomplishments while at Connecticut College and rich lives after their days as Camels.

Kerry Newhall Heath '98 was a groundbreaker for the track & field program. Newhall Heath excelled in the javelin throw. A 1996 All-American and three-time All-New England performer, Newhall Heath threw the javelin 131 feet and three inches to set a school record that has stood for close to two decades.

Newhall Heath placed fifth at the 1996 NCAA Championship. She captured the 1997 Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Crown and was a three-time All-ECAC honoree for Head Coach Ned Bishop's Camels.

In her senior year, Newhall Heath was honored as the recipient of the prestigious Brown/Brooks Award. Established by the Class of 1984, this award is given to the outstanding male and female student-athletes who best represent the graduating class in scholarship, leadership and sportsmanship. The award is named after its first recipients, Tammy Brown '84 and Jim Brooks '84.

A three-time All-American on the lacrosse field and key contributor for the hockey team, Tim Boyd '01 staked his claim as one of the most talented and versatile athletes to compete in the Camel athletic program.  

Playing for former men's lacrosse coach and current athletic director Fran Shields, Boyd set the program record for goals scored from the midfield position with 101 markers. He dished out 56 assists and ranks ninth on the program's all-time list for total offensive production with 157 points.

Boyd and the Camels made history in 2001 as the first Connecticut College men's lacrosse team to advance into the Semifinal Round of the New England Small College Athletic Conference Championship.

At the conclusion of his senior season, Boyd represented Connecticut College in the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association North-South Senior All-Star Game.

On the ice, Boyd helped lead the Camels to an appearance in the ECAC Championship game in 1998 as a valuable member of the forward line.

At the conclusion of his senior season, Boyd was feted with the Anita L. DeFrantz '74 Award.   The award was established in 1995 by Kathryn Smith '84. It is given annually to the male and female members of the graduating class whose athletic ability, leadership and sportsmanship best exemplify the qualities of Olympic medalist Anita L. DeFrantz '74. 

Adam Fitzgerald '03 was the leader and top harrier for the greatest Camel men's cross country team to have taken to the trails. Fitzgerald and the Camels placed fourth at the 2002 NCAA Regional Championship and closed out their historic season with a 20th place finish at the NCAA Championship.

Fitzgerald garnered All-America Honors with a 25th place at the 2003 NCAA Championship as an individual qualifier and was twice honored as an All-New England Runner for Head Coach Jim Butler's squad.

Fitzgerald earned numerous honors for his dominance in distance running in both indoor and outdoor track & field. In the 10,000 meter run, Fitzgerald posted a school record time of 30:53.77 to win the All-New England (D. 1, 2. 3) Championship in 2003 and captured the 10k crown at 2002 New England Division III Championship as well as the 2003 New England Small College Athletic Conference Championship.

Fitzgerald continued to support his alma-mater after graduation by serving as a volunteer assistant coach for cross country and track & field between 2004 and 2010.

Fitzgerald has competed in seven marathons, finishing the grueling course in Boston for four consecutive years from 2007-2010. At the 2009 Chicago Marathon, Fitzgerald finished in the top 1% percent of the field, setting a personal record as the 35th American finisher (49th overall) with a time of 2:25.30. 

A groundbreaker for women in sports and one of the most decorated and successful Division III coaches of all time, Anne Parmenter has been a mentor and leader in the NESCAC for close to three decades.    

Parmenter was the head field hockey coach at Connecticut College for 14 seasons with her team making six ECAC Division III New England Championship appearances. From 1994-1996, Parmenter's teams won 30 field hockey games.

Parmenter recruited many talented field hockey players and gifted students, including 1995 All-American Kim Holliday '96 (AHOF Class of 2009), who closed out her career as the program's all-time leading scorer.   

On the lacrosse field, Parmenter's teams posted a 107-47 record from 1991-2001. The Camels made nine appearances in the ECAC Championship, capturing ECAC crowns in 1994 and 2000. In 1996, Parmenter's squad made history as the first Camel women's lacrosse team to qualify for the NCAA Championship.

For the past 14 years, Parmenter has continued her successful coaching career at Trinity College.

In 2006, Parmenter took a one-year sabbatical to achieve a lifelong dream of climbing Mount Everest.

The Athletic Hall of Fame, created in 1989, honors those "who have brought distinction to themselves and Connecticut College through their achievement, commitment, sportsmanship and leadership in athletics." The Hall of Fame gallery is in the Charles B. Luce Field House.

Hall membership is open to individual alumni, coaches, faculty, administrators and friends of the Connecticut College community and even to exceptional teams. Alumni become eligible for nomination five years after graduation, coaches five years after leaving the College. Anyone may submit a nomination. Selection is made by a committee consisting of the athletic director, a representative from the Office of Alumni Relations, faculty, alumni, a representative from the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee and a current member of the Hall of Fame.